How to Install the FTB Launcher and Connect to the server *

View/post tutorials for use on our Tekkit server

How to Install the FTB Launcher and Connect to the server *

Postby hobby boy » 17 Mar 2013, 08:10

To be able to connect to the Citycraft FTB Monster server, you need the FTB Launcher, which is another minecraft launcher like the technic launcher for Tekkit.
To install the Launcher, you need to:
1) Download the FTB Launcher Jar HERE. I recommend using the Jar launcher over the exe launcher, as it isn't always up to date, and some anti-viruses don't like it.
2) Create a folder called FTB (I put mine in %appdata%, where .minecraft is), and move the ftblauncher.jar file there.
3) Run the ftb launcher jar, and wait for the FTB Launcher to open.

Image

4) Click the "select profile" drop down menu next to the login button in the bottom right corner, and select create profile. A box called "profile creator" should come up, which is where you put your minecraft login details. Once your login details are entered, click the "Done" button.

Image

5) Run the FTB Monster pack, by selecting it in the modpack list (currently at the top), and clicking the login button, to download the modpack and start it up for the first time. Make sure your minecraft profile is selected or you'll get a login error, and that 1.1.0 is selected on the drop down box with "Recommended" on. 1.1.0 is currently the recommended build, so it can be left on recommended at the moment.

6) Optional: You can also install optifine into the pack easily, but you need a certain version of it, due to forge compatibility.
Go to the Optifine post on the Minecraft Forums, and download OptiFine HD D1 Ultra for Minecraft 1.6.4
To install it, you run the FTB Launcher, select FTB Monster, and click the "Edit Mod Pack" button. Select the mods tab, and add "Optifine_1.6.4_HD_U_D1.zip" to it, by clicking the "Add Mod" button and going to your downloads folder.

Image
(Image is outdated, optifine no longer needs to go into the jarmods tab, the regular mods tab works)

Problems:
"When generating the world on the modpack, it just says "Converting World" and doesn't do anything"
This normally happens on Macs running Java 6. To resolve this problem, you start the FTB Launcher up, and select the Options tab at the top, and click the "Advanced Options" button, which causes a window to come up. In the "Advanced Java Parameters" box, enter:
Code: Select all
-Xms256m -XX:PermSize=128M -XX:MaxPermSize=256m

then you should be able to generate worlds, and go on the server. (ftb.citycraft.co.uk)
Last edited by hobby boy on 17 Apr 2014, 16:13, edited 15 times in total.
Reason: Updated the post for the new mod pack -Hobby Added Asterisk -Disy, Updated for Monster -Hobby
Veteran on Build
Tier 4 on Survival | Faction: TheCreed
Moderator on FTB
Image

Join me in #CC on EsperNet!
hobby boy
Moderator
  
Name:Hobby_boy
Build:Moderator
Survival:Moderator
FTB:Moderator
SkyBlock:Moderator
 
Posts:655
Joined:10 May 2012, 12:56
Location:Hampshire, UK

Re: How to Install the FTB Launcher and Connect to the serve

Postby Oady » 17 Mar 2013, 08:16

Removed Link - This thread is for different uses than the other tutorial.
<?php
echo("I do not know how to PHP");
?>
Oady
GOD LIKE
  
Survival:Ultra
 
Posts:1268
Joined:31 Aug 2011, 18:54

Re: How to Install the FTB Launcher and Connect to the serve

Postby roryjasper » 17 Mar 2013, 08:29

What classifies as running it?
Getting to the menu screen?
Or creating a world/joining a server?
I pop on now and again.
Former Build Moderator
User avatar
roryjasper
GOD LIKE
  
Build:Ultra
FTB:Ultra
 
Posts:1738
Joined:09 Jul 2012, 10:37
Location:Australia

Re: How to Install the FTB Launcher and Connect to the serve

Postby hobby boy » 17 Mar 2013, 08:32

By running, its means that the menu screen comes up, and you don't get a crash.
Veteran on Build
Tier 4 on Survival | Faction: TheCreed
Moderator on FTB
Image

Join me in #CC on EsperNet!
hobby boy
Moderator
  
Name:Hobby_boy
Build:Moderator
Survival:Moderator
FTB:Moderator
SkyBlock:Moderator
 
Posts:655
Joined:10 May 2012, 12:56
Location:Hampshire, UK

Re: How to Install the FTB Launcher and Connect to the serve

Postby roryjasper » 17 Mar 2013, 08:33

Ok.
I am currently trying out this installation...
Hopefully it will work.

-- 17 Mar 2013, 18:34 --

How long would you say it should stay on the Mojang screen...?
I pop on now and again.
Former Build Moderator
User avatar
roryjasper
GOD LIKE
  
Build:Ultra
FTB:Ultra
 
Posts:1738
Joined:09 Jul 2012, 10:37
Location:Australia

Re: How to Install the FTB Launcher and Connect to the serve

Postby hobby boy » 17 Mar 2013, 08:42

If you have a look at the Console window when the mojang screen is up, it should be doing a lot of processes to load all the mods.
Veteran on Build
Tier 4 on Survival | Faction: TheCreed
Moderator on FTB
Image

Join me in #CC on EsperNet!
hobby boy
Moderator
  
Name:Hobby_boy
Build:Moderator
Survival:Moderator
FTB:Moderator
SkyBlock:Moderator
 
Posts:655
Joined:10 May 2012, 12:56
Location:Hampshire, UK

Re: How to Install the FTB Launcher and Connect to the serve

Postby roryjasper » 17 Mar 2013, 08:43

And once thats done it should get past the loading screen?

-- 17 Mar 2013, 18:48 --

OK the Console stopped moving... and im still stuck on the loading screen...

This is the console...
http://pastebin.com/NPdeYjbV
I pop on now and again.
Former Build Moderator
User avatar
roryjasper
GOD LIKE
  
Build:Ultra
FTB:Ultra
 
Posts:1738
Joined:09 Jul 2012, 10:37
Location:Australia

Re: How to Install the FTB Launcher and Connect to the serve

Postby hobby boy » 17 Mar 2013, 08:50

Try adding more RAM to the game, by Clicking options, and moving the slider to 2gb.
Veteran on Build
Tier 4 on Survival | Faction: TheCreed
Moderator on FTB
Image

Join me in #CC on EsperNet!
hobby boy
Moderator
  
Name:Hobby_boy
Build:Moderator
Survival:Moderator
FTB:Moderator
SkyBlock:Moderator
 
Posts:655
Joined:10 May 2012, 12:56
Location:Hampshire, UK

Re: How to Install the FTB Launcher and Connect to the serve

Postby roryjasper » 17 Mar 2013, 09:02

Did that and then this happened...
http://pastebin.com/VPjXC7cu

Look at the bottom...
I pop on now and again.
Former Build Moderator
User avatar
roryjasper
GOD LIKE
  
Build:Ultra
FTB:Ultra
 
Posts:1738
Joined:09 Jul 2012, 10:37
Location:Australia

Re: How to Install the FTB Launcher and Connect to the serve

Postby hobby boy » 17 Mar 2013, 09:32

You got an out of memory error, do you still have the additional java parameters entered?
Veteran on Build
Tier 4 on Survival | Faction: TheCreed
Moderator on FTB
Image

Join me in #CC on EsperNet!
hobby boy
Moderator
  
Name:Hobby_boy
Build:Moderator
Survival:Moderator
FTB:Moderator
SkyBlock:Moderator
 
Posts:655
Joined:10 May 2012, 12:56
Location:Hampshire, UK

Next

Return to Tekkit Tutorials

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest
cron